Visa – free travel to Belarus (instruction)

The five-day visa – free regime of entry from 80 countries came into force in Belarus on 12 February 2017.

Who can come?

Tourists from 80 countries can entry Belarus for up to 5 days. The five-day visa-free regime applies to the citizens of European Union and also to the citizens of Brazil, Indonesia, the USA and Japan.

How does it work?

The only restriction is the entry only through the State border checkpoint of the Republic of Belarus «Minsk National Airport». It means that you can`t go by train or by bus, you must fly by plane, and popular low-cost airlines have`nt yet appeared in Belarus. So a tip: you can fly by low-cost to Vilnius, and from there you fly by plane to Minsk, it`s not expensive.

What is necessary for entry?

To enter the Republic of Belarus in the five-day visa-free regime via the checkpoint “Minsk National Airport”, foreign nationals must have the following documents:

– a valid passport or another substituting document for traveling abroad;

– financial means: at least 25 Euro (or equal amount in dollars or Belarusian rubles) for each day of stay;

– medical insurance with coverage for at least 10,000 Euros that covers the territory of Belarus.

What can you do during 5 days?

Relatively short duration, but you can visit Minsk within one day and Grodno, the Western city of Belarus with its ancient castle of the XV century.

What not to forget?

An important point is the five-day visa-free regime when you can stay in the country without a visa including dates of arrival and departure. It means, if you come in the evening, it counts as a whole day. If you overstay, there is a risk to pay a considerable fine.

Would the period of stay be extended?

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Belarus has plans to extend the period of stay without a visa for up to 12 days. Would this decision be made and when, it is still unknown.

The full list of countries where you can arrive from without a visa:

Australia, Austria, Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Barbados, Bahrain, Belgium, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Vanuatu, Vatican, the Great Britain, Vietnam, Germany, Haiti, Hong Kong, Greece, Denmark, Commonwealth of Dominica, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Italy, Canada, Cyprus, China, Korea, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Order of Malta, Mexico, the Federated States of Micronesia, Monaco, Namibia, Netherlands, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, the USA, Uruguay, Finland, France, Croatia, Czech Republic, Chile, Switzerland, Sweden, El Salvador, Estonia and Japan.

For citizens of Vietnam, Haiti, Gambia, Honduras, India, China, Lebanon, Namibia, Samoa a valid multiple visa of the EU member states or Schengen zone with a mark in passport on crossing the border of these states and tickets with confirmation of departure from  «Minsk National Airport» within 5 days from the date of entry is a compulsory additional requirement.

Search for cheap air tickets to Belarus: FIND. 
View hotels HERE or rent an apartment HERE.
Rent a car in Belarus: HERE.

Save to